Download Free FREE High-quality Joomla! Designs • Premium Joomla 3 Templates
Home / News / Úna Ní Raifeartaigh is Ireland’s next judge at ECHR

Úna Ní Raifeartaigh is Ireland’s next judge at ECHR

Court of Appeal judge Úna Ní Raifeartaigh has been elected as Ireland’s next judge at the European Court of Human Rights.

She will replace Ireland’s current judge and current President of the Court Síofra O’Leary whose term of office expires on 1 July.

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe voted on Ireland’s three nominees this afternoon.

Ms Justice Ní Raifeartaigh received 164 votes, Judge Fergal Gaynor, who is an international judge of the Kosovo Specialist Chambers in the Hague, received nine votes and Professor Colm Ó Cinnéide, a professor of constitutional and human rights law at University College London got four votes.

The European Court of Human Rights is based in Strasbourg and is made up of 46 judges, one from each of the member states of the Council of Europe who have ratified the European Convention on Human Rights.

The judges decide on complaints relating to breaches of the Convention and its decisions are binding.

Ms Justice O’Leary was elected to the court in 2015 and became President in 2022.

Ms Justice Ní Raifeartaigh began practising as a barrister in 1993. She was appointed as a High Court judge in 2016 and appointed to the Court of Appeal in 2019.

Source link

Check Also

Deaths of family members in Mayo an ‘unspeakable tragedy’

The deaths of three members of a family – a mother and her two young …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *