Download Free FREE High-quality Joomla! Designs • Premium Joomla 3 Templates
Home / News / O’Sullivan back as Gleeson names squad for qualifiers

O’Sullivan back as Gleeson names squad for qualifiers

Denise O’Sullivan returns from injury as Eileen Gleeson revealed her Republic of Ireland squad for next month’s opening set of Women’s Euro 2025 qualifying fixtures against France and England.

The Girls in Green are facing into a daunting group campaign with a meeting against the French in Metz on Friday, 5 April, before hosting reigning European champions England at the Aviva Stadium the following Tuesday. Both fixtures will be broadcast live on RTÉ.

Head coach Gleeson has selected a 26-player panel for the two games with North Carolina Courage playmaker O’Sullivan back in contention after being forced to withdraw from February’s friendlies against Italy and Wales following a knee injury.

Like the Cork native, fellow midfielder Tyler Toland also returns from a minor knee injury.

There is also a maiden call-up for Aston Villa defender Anna Patten, although the 24-year-old will require international clearance from FIFA before being declared eligible to feature in the upcoming fixtures.

Teenage Manchester City defender Tara O’Hanlon misses out on the squad as she continues to work through return to play protocols, while Sinead Farrelly (quad) Jamie Finn (knee) are sidelined.

Goalkeepers: Courtney Brosnan (Everton), Grace Moloney (London City Lionesses), Sophie Whitehouse (Lewes).

Defenders: Jessie Stapleton (Reading – on loan from West Ham United), Diane Caldwell (FC Zurich), Louise Quinn (Birmingham City), Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Aoife Mannion (Manchester United), Caitlin Hayes (Celtic), Anna Patten (Aston Villa), Megan Campbell (London City Lionesses).

Midfielders: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Megan Connolly (Bristol City), Ruesha Littlejohn (London City Lionesses), Tyler Toland (Blackburn Rovers), Lily Agg (Birmingham City), Heather Payne (Everton), Jess Ziu (West Ham United), Lucy Quinn (Birmingham City), Izzy Atkinson (Crystal Palace).

Forwards: Kyra Carusa (San Diego Wave), Abbie Larkin (Crystal Palace), Amber Barrett (Standard Liege), Leanne Kiernan (Liverpool), Emily Murphy (Wake Forest University).

Euro 2025 qualifiers

Friday 5 April: France v Republic of Ireland, Stade Saint-Symphorien Metz, 8.10pm

Tuesday 9 April: Republic of Ireland v England, Aviva Stadium, 7.30pm

Friday 31 May: Republic of Ireland v Sweden, Aviva Stadium, 7.30pm

Tuesday 4 June: Sweden v Republic of Ireland, ko time and venue TBC

Friday 12 July: England v Republic of Ireland, Carrow Road, ko time TBC

Tuesday 16 July: Republic of Ireland v France, ko time and venue TBC

We need your consent to load this YouTube contentWe use YouTube to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Listen to the RTÉ Soccer podcast on Apple Podcasts, Spotify or wherever you get your podcasts.

Source link

Check Also

US House to vote on Ukraine, Israel, Taiwan aid package

Members of the US House of Representatives are to vote on a crucial aid package …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *