Download Free FREE High-quality Joomla! Designs • Premium Joomla 3 Templates
Home / News / O’Mahony to lead Ireland in Six Nations

O’Mahony to lead Ireland in Six Nations

Peter O’Mahony has been named as Ireland captain for the upcoming Guinness Six Nations.

The announcement came as head coach Andy Farrell named a 34-man squad for the tournament, which begins on 2 February against France in Marseille.

The 34-year-old Munster back row, who has 101 Ireland caps, is currently contracted with the IRFU until the end of the summer, and negotiations on a new deal are an “ongoing process”, the province said yesterday.

O’Mahony surprisingly stepped down as Munster captain in November.

Missing through injury are Mack Hansen, Jimmy O’Brien, Dave Kilcoyne and Rob Herring.

Wingers Jordan Larmour of Leinster, Munster’s Calvin Nash and Ulster’s Jacob Stockdale are included.

Farrell has also included three uncapped players: Munster forwards Oli Jager and Tom Ahern, and Leinster out-half Sam Prendergast as “training panellists”.

More to follow…

Ireland Squad – Guinness Men’s Six Nations 2024

Forwards (19):

Ryan Baird (Leinster/Dublin University)(15)
Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Buccaneers)(36)
Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne)(46)
Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere)(41)
Caelan Doris (Leinster/St Mary’s College)(36)
Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf)(72)
Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf)(125)
Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy)(79)
Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne)(26)
Jeremy Loughman (Munster/Garryowen)(4)
Joe McCarthy (Leinster/Dublin University)(5)
Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution)(101) (captain)
Tom O’Toole (Ulster/Ballynahinch)(12)
Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD)(59)
James Ryan (Leinster/UCD)(59)
Dan Sheehan (Leinster/Lansdowne)(21)
Tom Stewart (Ulster/Ballynahinch)(2)
Nick Timoney (Ulster/Banbridge)(3)
Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD)(57)

Backs (15):

Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians)(52)
Harry Byrne (Leinster/UCD)(2)
Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon)(13)
Jack Crowley (Munster/Cork Constitution)(9)
Ciaran Frawley (Leinster/UCD)(1)
Jamison Gibson-Park (Leinster)(30)
Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers)
Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD)(36)
Jordan Larmour (Leinster/St Mary’s College)(30)
James Lowe (Leinster)(26)
Stuart McCloskey (Ulster/Bangor)(15)
Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen)(112)
Calvin Nash (Munster/Young Munster)(1)
Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD)(57)
Jacob Stockdale (Ulster/Lurgan)(37)

Training Panellists:

Oli Jager (Munster)*
Thomas Ahern (Shannon/Munster)*
Sam Prendergast (Lansdowne/Leinster)*


2024 Six Nations fixtures

Round 1

Friday 2 February – France v Ireland, 8pm
Saturday 3 February – Italy v England, 2.15pm
Saturday 3 February – Wales v Scotland, 4.45pm

Round 2

Saturday 10 February – Scotland v France, 2.15pm
Saturday 10 February – England v Wales, 4.45pm
Sunday 11 February – Ireland v Italy, 3pm

Round 3

Saturday 24 February – Ireland v Wales, 2.15pm
Saturday 24 February – Scotland v England, 4.45pm
Sunday 25 February – France v Italy, 3pm

Round 4

Saturday 9 March – Italy v Scotland, 2.15pm
Saturday 9 March – England v Ireland, 4.45pm
Sunday 10 March – Wales v France, 3pm

Round 5

Saturday 16 March – Wales v Italy, 2.15pm
Saturday 16 March – Ireland v Scotland, 4.45pm
Saturday 16 March – France v England, 8pm

Source link

Check Also

Justin Timberlake’s lawyer will ‘vigorously defend’ him

Justin Timberlake’s lawyer has said he is looking forward to “vigorously defending” the US singer …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *