Download Free FREE High-quality Joomla! Designs • Premium Joomla 3 Templates
Home / News / Irish authors among shortlisted for Dublin Literary Award

Irish authors among shortlisted for Dublin Literary Award

Novels by two Irish authors have been shortlisted for the 2024 Dublin Literary Award.

‘Old God’s Time’ by Sebastian Barry and ‘Haven’ by Emma Donoghue were among the final six announced.

The other shortlisted titles are ‘Solenoid’ by Mircea Cărtărescu and translated by Sean Cotter, ‘If I Survive You’ by Jonathan Escoffery, ‘The Sleeping Car Porter’ by Suzette Mayr and ‘Praiseworthy’ by Alexis Wright.

Worth €100,000, the Dublin Literary Award is the largest award for a single novel published in English.

If the winning book has been translated, the author receives €75,000 and the translator receives €25,000.

Last year’s award went given to German author Katja Oskamp for ‘Marzahn, Mon Amour’, which was translated by Jo Heinrich.

The award was last won by an Irish author in 2020, with Anna Burns claiming the prize for her novel ‘Milkman’.

The winner of the 2024 Dublin Literary Award will be announced on 23 May by Dublin Lord Mayor Daithí de Róiste as part of the International Literature Festival Dublin.

Source link

Check Also

Two jurors dismissed by judge in Trump criminal trial

Donald Trump was back in court as prosecutors and defence attorneys struggled to select a …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *