48 countries to be visited by ministers for St Patrick’s

The Government has said ministers and other representatives will emphasise Ireland’s commitment to peace and security when they travel to 48 countries across the world for St Patrick’s Day.

The role of young Irish people in business, innovation, creativity, academia and community development across the globe will also be highlighted as part of the programme.

It will see 38 representatives including the Taoiseach and Government ministers visiting 86 cities in 48 countries.

In a statement following this morning’s cabinet meeting, the Government said the representatives will “emphasise Ireland’s commitment to international peace and security and the rules-based multilateral system, especially at this time of conflict and turbulence.”

Other “key messages” will include “the strength of Ireland’s economy, our active membership of the European Union, our commitment to protecting the Good Friday Agreement, and the high priority we attach to climate action and sustainability,” according to the statement.

As well as visiting Washington DC and the White House, Leo Varadkar will travel to Boston.

Mícheál Martin will visit three cities in Canada – Vancouver, Ottowa and Toronto.

The destinations of other cabinet ministers include:

  • Minister for Environment and Transport Eamon Ryan: Brazil
  • Minister for Finance Michael McGrath: China
  • Minister for Public Expenditure Paschal Donohoe: France, Bulgaria
  • Minister for Justice Helen McEntee: US – New York
  • Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Sport and the Media: Catherine Martin: US – Nashville, Austin
  • Minister for Health, Stephen Donnelly: Australia
  • Minister for Enterprise, Simon Coveney: India, Bangladesh
  • Minister for Education, Norma Foley: UK
  • Minister for Children, Roderic O’Gorman: Japan
  • Minister for Higher Education, Simon Harris: UK – London
  • Minister for Agriculture, Charlie McConalogue: Kenya, Ethiopia, South Sudan
  • Minister for Social Protection, Heather Humphreys: US Chicago, Madison. Springfield
  • Minister for Housing, Darragh O’Brien: South Africa, Zambia
  • Government Chief Whip Hildergarde Naughten: Singapore

A further nineteen Ministers of State will travel, as will the Ceann Comhairle, Seán Ó Fearghaíl, the Cathaoirleach of the Seanad, Jerry Buttimer and the Attorney General, Ross Fanning.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button